Killarney Rally of the Lakes- 1st – 3rd May 2015- details announced

29 Mar Killarney Rally of the Lakes- 1st – 3rd May 2015- details announced

Killarney and District Motor Club has announced details of the 36th Rally of the Lakes.
The rally, a counting round of the The Clonakilty Black Pudding Irish Tarmac Rally, The Southern 4 Rally and the FIA European Historic Rally championships will feature some of Ireland’s most iconic stages.

The three-day event will begin with a ceremonial start in Killarney’s town centre on Friday May 1.

Plans are at an advanced stage to create a motorsport festival on the streets of the Kerry town and more details of this sideshow will be announced at the rally’s official launch on April 12 at the Gleneagle Hotel, the rally’s headquarters since its inception in 1979.

Dermot Healy, clerk of the course explained the route.

He said: “Saturday morning kicks off with with the iconic Molls Gap, followed by the Tim Healy Pass and centralised service on Castletownbere Pier. Then it’s time to head out on the famous stages of Cods Head and Ardgroom with a repeat run over the Healy Pass and into service for a well deserved break. Cods Head and Ardgroom are repeated and a blast through the Kilmakilloge harbour stage to finish off the day.

“Sunday morning starts with Molls Gap once again, followed by the mountainous Beallaghbeama Pass and the fast flowing Shanera stage, Then into service at Liebherr Container cranes Killarney. This Loop is of Molls Gap and Beallaghbeama Pass is repeated and into service again, before heading out to the spectator friendly loop of Rockfield, Shanera and Rockfield stages.”
The rally will be backed by for the sixth consecutive year.
Healy added: “We are delighted to announce that for their sixth successive year Ireland’s leading vehicle history record company is the main sponsor of the Rally of the Lakes 2015. KC Print Killarney, Ordnance Survey Ireland and the Gleneagle Hotel, who have been the main supporters of the Rally of the Lakes for many years, continue as Associate Sponsors.
Accommodation deals are available at Rally Hq, the Gleneagle Hotel, for crews and followers alike. Bookings and information at 064 6636000

Entries will open shortly AT:

Last year’s winners Sam Moffaat and James O’Reilly in their Ford Fiesta WRC BY Dylan Doonan.